

President of the European Commission President of the European Council High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

Brussels, 16 March 2022

Open Letter of the Members of the European Parliament

Call for the humanitarian corridor to Mariupol without any delay

The situation in Mariupol is the closest to the worst-case scenario among others atrocities in Ukraine. It is a place of unthinkable human suffering. More than 2000 people have been already killed. The city has been hit by more than 100 bombs destroying buildings, including hospitals. There is no electricity, and people are running low on food and water. Moreover, the agreed humanitarian corridors have, up to now, failed. We believe it is essential to act now and stop the ongoing humanitarian crisis.

We, the undersigned Member of the European Parliament, call for the EU and the Member states to create an effective and fast humanitarian corridor protected by a **limited no-fly zone.** Complementary action is to set up **humanitarian aid flights** through designated and **secured air corridors**. This action would allow supplying food, equipment, and rescuing refugees from the war zone.

Establishing a limited no-fly zone over these humanitarian corridors is primarily a humanitarian decision, not a military one. This decision can be achieved by an official invitation by the Ukraine president and cannot be considered as an act of war. It does not mean direct involvement of the NATO members and the members of the EU into a warfare. This would be a sole act of humanitarian aid.

Yours sincerely,

Members of the European Parliament

Michaela ŠOJDROVÁ, EPP, Czechia Andrius KUBILIUS, EPP, Lithuania

Veronika VRECIONOVÁ, ECR, Czechia Andrey KOVATCHEV, EPP, Bulgaria Esteban GONZÁLEZ PONS, EPP, Spain Marian-Jean MARINESCU, EPP, Romania Marek Paweł BALT, S&D, Poland Jiří POSPÍŠIL, EPP, Czechia Angel DZHAMBAZKI, ECR, Bulgaria Aušra MALDEIKIENĖ, EPP, Lithuania Alexander YORDANOV, EPP, Bulgaria Jacek SARYUSZ-WOLSKI, ECR, Poland Rasa JUKNEVIČIENĖ, EPP, Lithuania Witold Jan WASZCZYKOWSKI, ECR, Poland Isabel SANTOS, S&D, Portugal Peter POLLÁK, EPP, Slovakia Tomáš ZDECHOVSKÝ, EPP, Czechia Daniel BUDA, EPP, Romania Vlad GHEORGHE, Renew, Romania Martin BUSCHMANN, NA, Germany Kanev RADAN, EPP, Bulgaria Romana TOMC, EPP, Slovenia Beata MAZUREK, ECR, Poland Jarosław DUDA, EPP, Poland Liudas MAŽYLIS, EPP, Lithuania Ivan ŠTEFANEC, EPP, Slovakia Beata KEMPA, ECR, Poland Juozas OLEKAS, S&D, Lithuania David LEGA, EPP, Sweden Martin HLAVÁČEK, Renew, Czechia Janina OCHOJSKA, EPP, Poland Elżbieta Katarzyna ŁUKACIJEWSKA, EPP, Poland Ramona-Victoria STRUGARIU, Renew, Romania Andrzej HALICKI, EPP, Poland Petras AUŠTREVIČIUS, Renew, Lithuania Jadwiga WIŚNIEWSKA, ECR, Poland Jerzy BUZEK, EPP, Poland Zbigniew KUŹMIUK, ECR, Poland